Upcoming CPD


csem accredited program

Upcoming CSEM CPD Events


Physician Wellness: Reflections on the Challenges and Opportunities

Webinar | September 12, 2022
4 PM PT/ 5 PM MT/ 6 PM CT/ 7 PM ET / 8 PM AT / 8:30 PM NT


mdwellness

Physicians and healthcare providers face complex challenges that have been amplified by the pandemic and recent global events. These challenges include ongoing workplace stressors, strain on personal relationships and financial stress; and physician wellness is on the line — now more than ever.

Join our expert panel — Dr. Martin Koyle, Hayley Harlock and our own Stephen Hunt — for a candid discussion regarding the challenges the physician community is experiencing related to wellness, relationships and money. The panel will discuss strategies to help mitigate these challenges and strengthen and support the physician community.

You are welcome to comment or ask questions, before and during this session and we will share them with our panel.

Register here.

Unable to make it? Sign up for the recording here.

*This presentation will be in English only.


4th Canadian Acromegaly Summit

Webinar | October 14, 2022
9 AM – 12 PM PT / 10 AM – 1 PM MT / 11 AM – 2 PM CT / 12 – 3 PM ET / 1 – 4 PM AT / 1:30 – 4:30 PM NT

REGISTER HERE


Please join our panel, and international expert Dr. Sebastian Neggers, on Friday, October 14, 2022 as we discuss the indicators of Quality of Life and share best practices regarding the assessment and management of acromegaly patients across the lifespan!

Learning objectives: At the end of this summit, participants will be able to:

  • Describe the factors that contribute to impaired Quality of Life (QOL) in patients with acromegaly
  • Implement collaborative patient-centered strategies for improving QOL through osteoarthritis and pain management
  • Discuss best practices in the assessment and management of acromegaly patients across the lifespan, within the context of increasing virtual care visit

Guest Expert: Sebastian Neggers, MD, PhD, Erasmus University, Rotterdam, Netherlands

Faculty:

  • Michelle Johnson, MD, FRCPC, University of British Columbia, Vancouver (Chair)
  • Toru Tateno, MD, PhD, University of Alberta, Edmonton (Co-Chair)
  • Sandra Cooke-Hubley, MD, FRCPC, MSc (Med), MPH, Memorial University, St. John's (CSEM Representative)
  • Elizabeth Rosolowsky, MD, MPH, FRCPC, University of Alberta, Edmonton (CSEM CPD Chair)

Registration: Complimentary registration is offered to CSEM members; registration for non-members is $100. Join or renew today!

This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. It is approved by the Canadian Society of Endocrinology and Metabolism (CSEM) for a maximum of 3.0 hours.

This program was co-developed and planned by CSEM with Pfizer Canada to achieve scientific integrity, objectivity, and balance. Pfizer Canada provided an educational grant and in-kind support.

*This presentation will be in English only.


CSEM Hands-on Thyroid Ultrasound Workshop

Thursday, November 10, 2022
6:30 PM – 9:00 PM (MST) Telus Centre, Calgary, AB

REGISTER HERE

Note: You must be registered for the 2022 Diabetes Canada/CSEM Professional Conference to participate in the workshop.


Thyroid Ultrasound Hands-on Workshop

Learning objectives: Upon completion of this workshop, learners will be able to:

  • Identify the technical requirements and machine controls necessary for a comprehensive thyroid ultrasound examination.
  • Indicate how ultrasound physics can help with interpretation of neck ultrasound and endocrine anatomy and pathology.
  • Identify ultrasound features of the normal thyroid gland and surrounding neck anatomy.
  • Identify sonographic properties of thyroid nodules and cervical lymph nodes.
  • Determine the risk of malignancy for thyroid nodules based on sonographic features.
  • Demonstrate ultrasound-guided fine needle aspiration biopsy on a simulated thyroid nodule model.

Faculty:

  • Dr. Deric Morrison, St Joseph's Health Centre, London, ON
  • Dr. Philip Segal, Toronto General Hospital, Toronto, ON
  • Dr. Amel Arnaout, The Ottawa Hospital, Ottawa, ON
  • Dr. Christopher Tran, The Ottawa Hospital, Ottawa, ON

Registration: Registration open to physicians, recent graduates, residents, and research associates. This workshop is complimentary for CSEM members; $200 for non-members. Join or renew today! No shows will be invoiced $50. Don't forget to register for the Diabetes Canada/CSEM Professional Conference!

This is a Section 3 simulation accredited learning activity. Simulation approximates real-life situations, allowing participants to demonstrate (and receive feedback on) their application of knowledge (scientific and tacit), clinical reasoning, communication and problem-solving, as well as their ability to collaborate and work effectively in a health care team. Participants can claim 3.0 hrs of Section 3 MOC credits.


Canadian Advanced Learning in Bariatric Care (CALIBRE)

Webinar | Cohorts starting November 15, 2022, November 29, 2022 and December 13, 2022
4 PM PT/ 5 PM MT/ 6 PM CT/ 7 PM ET / 8 PM AT / 8:30 PM NT

REGISTER HERE


Calibre (short for Canadian Advanced Learning in Bariatric Care) was developed over the past year by leading national and global obesity researchers and clinicians, many of whom co-authored the Canadian Adult Obesity Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs), first published in 2020. Canadians who live with obesity made important contributions to the program.

Through a combination of online reading and video presentations and three live, interactive workshop sessions, Calibre covers:

  • Determinants and pathophysiology of obesity
  • Weight bias, stigma & discrimination
  • Evidence-based obesity treatments and supports in the Canadian CPGs (physical activity, medical nutrition therapy, behavioural/psychological interventions, pharmacotherapy and bariatric surgery)
  • Collaborative goal setting, managing outcomes and changing tactics

Registration for the first Calibre cohort, limited to 50 participants, is now open at obesitycanada.ca/calibre. The first 50 individuals to register will save CDN$200 off the program’s regular CDN$799 fee. Live sessions for the first cohort will run from 7:00 PM to 9:00 pm PM on November 15, 2022, November 29, 2022 and December 13, 2022. More cohorts will be added (at the regular price) as registration increases.

This activity is an accredited self-assessment program (Section 3) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and approved by the Canadian Society of Endocrinology and Metabolism. You may claim a maximum of 18 hours (credits are automatically calculated). Participants should only claim credits commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

This 3-credit-per-hour Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada for up to 44.25 Mainpro+® Credits.