Thyroid Foundation of Canada Research Award

Award Description

This research award is a multi-year grant provided by the Thyroid Foundation of Canada (TFC) and administered by CSEM to support research in the area of thyroid disease that impacts patient care. Research may be clinical/translational or basic research related to a clinical question.

An award of $50,000 per year for 2 years will be granted to a researcher focused on thyroid disease. The grant may be extended for an additional year based on progress reports after 10 and 22 months which will be reviewed by the CSEM Awards Committee as well as the TFC. All researchers are encouraged to apply but preference will be given to a young investigator who has been a faculty member at a Canadian university for fewer than 5 years and has demonstrated excellence as an independent investigator in clinical or basic science.

The award consists of a $50,000 CAD award and a plaque. It is hoped that that the recipient will attend the Diabetes Canada/CSEM Professional Conference to accept the award in person.


  • A new, previously unfunded research project focused on thyroid disease with an impact on patient care
  • Demonstrated excellence as an independent investigator
  • Faculty at a Canadian university, with preference for junior faculty (< 5 years) but not excluding established investigators
  • The research project must be done at an accredited Canadian institution
  • The recipient must be an active CSEM member

Application (accepting applications Spring 2023)

Complete the 2023 online submission form and submit supporting documents by the deadline of July 31, 2023:

  • Lay summary of project (max. 1 page) specifically describing the implications of the research project for patients with thyroid disorders
  • CV of nominee (complete CV or CIHR-type CV)
  • Three-page summary of proposed research project, including purpose, background hypothesis, research design, expectations, and possible pitfalls
  • Research references (in addition to the three-page summary)
  • Budget outlining the use of the funds, including other funding that is being sought
  • Proof of ethics approval (or submission to ethics board), where applicable

Evaluation Criteria

Project proposals will be evaluated by the CSEM Awards committee which includes senior endocrinologists and researchers and a TFC representative.

Proposals will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Project relevance: potential significance and impact on thyroid patient care
  • Feasibility: sound approaches and methods, appropriateness of timelines and plans, etc.
  • Expertise and resources: appropriate expertise and resources to support the project

Reporting Requirements

The recipient is required to provide after 10 and 22 months:

  • A brief summary of the project and what has been accomplished to date as well as a timeline for future plans
  • Results or outcomes of the project, including abstracts, publications and all communications related to the project

Additionally, upon completion of the project, the recipient is required to give a presentation on the project at the Thyroid Foundation of Canada’s Annual General Meeting (travel to be covered by TFC). The recipient is also encouraged to submit an abstract to the Diabetes Canada/CSEM Professional Conference.


  • The Thyroid Foundation of Canada precludes the use of the grant funds for any research involving animal models.
  • Grants are payable to the recipient’s institution.
  • Grant funds may be used for research staff or student salary support, as well as an operating grant.
  • The grant is intended to support research. Grant funds must contribute towards the direct costs of the research for which the funds were awarded. CSEM and TFC are not-for-profit organizations and do not allow overhead costs to be deducted from the grant funds; indirect or overhead costs associated with managing the research must be borne by the receiving institution.
  • Funding for the 2nd and/or 3rd year are contingent on reporting requirements being met and the Thyroid Foundation of Canada reserves the right to discontinue funding at their discretion.

salisbury 2020
Paul Stewardson, PhD Candidate, the Paschke & Eszlinger Lab (left), receiving the 2022 Thyroid Foundation of Canada Research Award from Dr. Ralf Paschke (right).

Past recipients of the Thyroid Foundation of Canada Research Award:

  • 2022: Dr. Paul Stewardson
  • 2021: Dr. Ralf Paschke